Tags

, , , , , ,

Well I know it is late but this is my attempt for Sunday Photo Fiction, a 100-200 word photo prompt provided by Al Forbes. Why not take a look over at the other stories posted each week and have a go yourself. Have a bit of fun and see what your mind creates πŸ™‚

sunday fictioneer

Flashbacks

Word Count 170

I still wake up with flashbacks of that day, my grandkids playing at the bottom of the garden near the stream. They loved to fish, they were getting older and at sixteen and seventeen I had started to trust them to enjoy their fishing alone, without being watched by me or their grandfather. I was in the kitchen making tea when I heard them both announce that they had caught something, I could hear their commotion as they ran up to show us there catch. I stood there smiling knowing how proud they would be with themselves but as I turn round to greet them with my biggest full of pride smile, my eyes were met with fear and horror on their fresh faces. My eyes gazed down from there sheet white faces to see the bloody remains of a baby in their arms. The police said it had been in the water over 3 days, I don’t think that image will ever leave me again or my precious innocent grandsons.

